On Jan. 1, a new law will take effect in New Hampshire that prohibits abortion after 24 weeks of pregnancy, local outlet Boston 25 News reported Thursday.
According to Boston 25, New Hampshire’s “Family Life Protection Act” will ban abortions under most circumstances after 24 weeks gestation, which is toward the end of the second trimester of pregnancy. Additionally, the law requires an ultrasound to be performed before all abortions in the state. Health care providers who violate the law could face up to seven years in prison.
Jason Hennessey, the president of New Hampshire Right to Life, told Boston 25 that his organization has been working towards laws like the Family Life Protection Act for some time.